Happy Spring

I could hardly believe my eyes yesterday when I saw this trout lily getting ready to blossom!

It’s one thing to find skunk cabbages in bloom in mid-March – heck, they’ll bloom when there’s snow on the ground, generating their own heat to melt it – but trout lilies are not quite such early bloomers.

Things are so advanced that not only are the skunk cabbages flowering, but they are already sending up leaf shoots!

These warm days it can be tempting to leave windows and doors open, but one must beware the entry of varmints if one isn’t vigilant!

Spring is here.  Happy Vernal Equinox, All!

About Dahlem Center

The Dahlem Center is a non-profit nature center/environmental education center located on almost 300 acres just south of the city of Jackson, Michigan. The Center is one arm of the Dahlem Conservancy, which includes land conservancy and stewardship in its mission.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Spring

  1. Oh my, a skunk came to call! I hope it went away peacefully. Amazing to find Trout LIly so early. I went looking today where I live (northern NY), and found Hepatica and Leatherwood but no Trout Lily. Also found those deliciously fragrant English Violets (Viola odorata).

  2. Ellen says:

    I thought it was a bit early for trout lily, too. I need to start a whole new phenology list – my NY list isn’t going to do me any good here in MI!

    Skunk and chippy both went peacefully on their way. 😀

Leave a Reply

